Health Sciences Awards, 2021-2022



Departmental Named Awards

Departmental Named Awards are special awards created by departments to recognize students' specific achievements. Each award has its own criteria and significance, as explained below, and students are chosen by departmental faculty.


Artice W. Harmon Memorial Scholarship Award

Ms. Artice Harmon started the Department of Occupational Therapy at Chicago State University in 1982 OT to increase the diversity of the OT profession and meet the needs of underserved communities. The Artice W. Harmon Memorial Scholarship is a monetary award given to an MOT student from an underrepresented minority who demonstrates initiative in scholarly pursuits, leadership abilities and diligence in the pursuit of a career in occupational therapy.

Hardashi Cotton-Carter


Batia Levy Family Scholarship

The Batia Levy Family Scholarship provides financial support for a Masters of Occupational Therapy student who is a minority student with a GPA of 3.0 or higher, entering in their final year of the occupational therapy program to provide support for Level II fieldwork.

Christina Robinson


Cynthia Heard Baldwin Professional Growth and Development Award

This award is for a third-year student in the Occupational Therapy program who has demonstrated significant professional growth and development since their admission into the occupational therapy program.

Hassen Kasem


Departmental Honor & Merit Awards
Departmental Merit and Honors Awards are presented to undergraduate students chosen by each department in recognition of the students’ high academic achievement in their particular disciplines. Departments with graduate programs may also present graduate awards to graduate students chosen by the department in recognition of the students’ high academic achievement in their particular fields.


Certificate of Honor: Falilatu Lasisi

Certificate of Merit: Rita Ryan

                               Helen Thompson-Davis

                               Rhiana Jones

Certificate of Honor: Carolina Lara

Certificate of Merit: Andrea Perez

                               Rosa Sanchez

                               Tiowanna Crowell

Certificate of Honor: Julia Senteno

Certificate of Merit: Oladotun Afolayan

Graduate Division Award: Donna Lai

                                          Juliana Alvarado

                                          Elizabeth Nguyen