Faculty

Geography

Daniel Block

Dr. Daniel Block

Professor of Geography: Acting Chair, Department of Geography, Sociology, History, Anthropology, and African-American Studies

Ph.D. University of California-Los Angeles

Research Interests: Food Geography, Health Disparities, Chicago, GIS, and Cartography.

Office: SCI Room 254

Phone: (773) 995-2310

Email: dblock@csu.edu
Gala

Dr. Tekleab Gala

Associate Professor of Geomatics & GIS lab Coordinator

Ph.D. Western University, Canada

Research Interests: Remote Sensing, Quantitative methods, Geodatabase Database Development and Management, GIS Programming and Customization, and Global Diversity.

Office: SCI Room 244

Phone: (773) 995-2340
Email:  tgala@csu.edu

Aynaz Lotfata, Ph.D

Aynaz Lotfata, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor

PhD, Mississippi State University

Research Interests: Community Planning/Design , Urban Sustainability, Environmental Justice, Human Geography, Geospatial Technology

Email:  alotfata@csu.edu 

Office: SCI Room 253

Phone: (773) 995-3816

 

Emeritus Faculty

Dr. Mark Bouman

Email: mbouman@fieldmuseum.org

Dr. Gebeyehu Mulugeta

Email: gmuluget@csu.edu

Dr. William Peterman

Email: wpeterma@csu.edu

 

History and Africana Studies

Dr. Suzuko Morikawa

Dr.  Suzuko Morikawa

Associate Professor of History and Affiliated Faculty of Anthropology

Ph.D. - Temple University

Research Interests:

African American History, Africans in the Americas (Latin America and the Caribbean), U.S. Immigration History, Race and Ethnicity in the U.S.

Office: SCI Room 277

Phone: (773) 995-2363

Email: s-morikawa@csu.edu 

Dr. Lionel Kimble

Dr.  Lionel Kimble

Associate Professor of History

Ph.D. - University of Iowa

Research Interests:

Black Chicago, World War II, US Labor and Working Class History, Civil Rights and History of Illinois

Office: SCI Room 248

Phone: (773)821-4389

Email: lkimble@csu.ed

Saidou Mohamed N'Daou

Dr. Saidou Mohamed N'Daou

Professor of History

Ph.D. - University of Minnesota

Research Interests:

Social Memories, African Oral Traditions, African Philosophy, History of West Africa, Methods of Teaching History, Identity,

Transnational Identity

Office: SCI Room 278

Phone: (773) 995-2973

Email: sndaou@csu.edu

Garrison Paige

Garrison Paige

Professor of Africana Studies

Ph.D. Temple University

Research Interests:

Ebonics, African and African American Women Studies, African Spirituality, African and African American Cinema, African and African American History, African and African American Folklore, African and African American Music and African and Diasporic Rhetoric

Office: SCI Room 256

Phone: To Come

Email: gpaige@csu.edu

Dr. Steve Rowe

Professor of History and Dean of the Honors College

Ph.D. Duke University

Research Interests:

Race, Labor, & Migration in/to France; World War I; European Labor & Working-Class History; History of Literacy & Education; Social & Cultural History methods & theory

Office: GBL 431

Phone: (773) 995-3801

Email: srowe21@csu.edu

 

Sociology

Dr. Leslie Baker-Kimmons

Dr. Leslie Baker-Kimmons

Professor of Sociology

PhD. Howard University, Washington D.C

Research Interests:

Social Inequality, Race, Class & Gender

Office: SCI Room 247

Phone: (773) 995-3845

Email: lbakerki@csu.edu

Dr. Judith Birgen

Dr. Judith Birgen

Associate Professor of Sociology

PhD. University of Chicago

Research Interests:

Office: SCI Room 229

Phone: (773) 995-3747

Email: jbirgen@csu.edu

Dr. Pancho McFarland

Dr. Pancho McFarland

Professor of Sociology

PhD. University of Texas

Research Interests:

Chicanas/os, Hip-hop, Sociology of food,
Social movements & Anarchism

Office: SCI Room 228

Phone: (773) 995-2333

Email: lmcfar20@csu.edu

Dr. Arthur Redman

Dr.  Arthur Redman

Associate Professor of Sociology

PhD. University of Massachusetts - Amherst

Research Interests:

Social Theory, Research Methods,
Social Identity, and Gerontology

Office: SCI Room 249

Phone: (773) 995-4431

Email: aredman@csu.edu