Summer 2008 Fee & Payment Information

(ADM 211  • 773-995-2470)

The Office of Financial Affairs administers course fees and payment policies. Tuition and mandatory fees are subject to change.

Validation
What is validation?
Validation is any form of payment in the following manner:
• Cash
• Check / Money Order
• Charge
• Third Party Letter (outside Agency)
• Financial Aid Waiver

What does validation do for a student?

  • Validation locks students into their classes so that they will not be dropped unless the student or instructor does so.
  • Every student should do a formal withdrawal if the student is not going to attend the University.
  • If you have already validated with cash, check, charge, third party letter or a financial aid waiver, your class(es) will not be dropped. If you make a payment to your account for parking, library fines, meal plans, or any other items for the current term, your classes for that term will not be dropped.

Summer 2008 On-Campus Illinois Resident
Summer 2008 On-Campus Non-Illinois Resident
Summer 2008 Off Campus Tuition
Distance Learning Tuition
Calculate Your Tuition
Four Year Guaranteed Tuition Plan
Important Information
Payment and Refund Policy
Tuition Management Services (TMS) Monthly Payment Planner

Summer 2008 On-Campus Illinois Resident

  Tuition per Cr Hr # Cr Hr Fees TOTAL
Undergrad
$164.00
1-8
$164.00 $328.00 - $1,476.00
 
$164.00
9+
$226.00 $1,702.00
Undergrad ( Summer 2008 newly enrolled freshmen & transfers)
 
$229.00
1-8
$164.00 $393.00 - $1,996.00
 
$206.00
9+
$226.00 $2,287.00
Undergrad ( 2007 newly enrolled freshmen & transfers)
 
$206.00
1-8
$164.00 $370.00 - $1,812.00
 
$206.00
9+
$226.00 $2,080.00
Undergrad ( 2006 newly enrolled freshmen & transfers)
 
$189.00
1-8
$164.00 $353.00 - $1,676.00
 
$189.00
9+
$226.00 $1,927.00
Undergrad ( 2005 newly enrolled freshmen & transfers)
 
$174.00
1-8
$164.00 $338.00 - $1,556.00
 
$174.00
9+
$226.00 $1,792.00
Undergrad ( 2004 newly enrolled freshmen & transfers)
 
$161.00
1-8
$164.00 $325.00 - $1,452.00
 
$161.00
9+
$226.00 $1,675.00
Graduate
$176.00
1-8
$164.00 $340.00 - $1,572.00
 
$176.00
9+
$226.00 $1,810.00
Doctoral
$199.00
1-8
$164.00 $363.00 - $1,756.00
 
$199.00
9+
$226.00 $2,017.00

Summer 2008 On-Campus Non-Illinois Resident

  Tuition per Cr Hr # Cr Hr Fees TOTAL
Undergrad
$331.00
1-8
$164.00 $495.00 - $2,812.00
 
$331.00
9+
$226.00

$3,205.00

Undergrad ( Summer 2008 newly enrolled freshmen & transfers)
 
$455.00
1-8
$164.00 $619.00 - $3,804.00
 
$455.00
9+
$226.00 $4,321.00
Undergrad ( 2007 newly enrolled freshmen & transfers)
 
$410.00
1-8
$164.00 $574.00 - $3,444.00
 
$410.00
9+
$226.00 $3,916.00
Undergrad ( 2006 newly enrolled freshmen & transfers)
 
$376.00
1-8
$164.00 $540.00 - $3,172.00
 
$376.00
9+
$226.00 $3,610.00
Undergrad ( 2005 newly enrolled freshmen & transfers)
 
$347.00
1-8
$164.00 $511.00 - $2,940.00
 
$347.00
9+
$226.00 $3,349.00
Undergrad ( 2004 newly enrolled freshmen & transfers)
 
$322.00
1-8
$164.00 $486.00 - $2,740.00
 
$322.00
9+
$226.00 $3,124.00
Graduate
$349.00
1-8
$164.00 $513.00 - $2,956.00
 
$349.00
9+
$226.00 $3,367.00
Doctoral
$372.00
1-8
$164.00 $536.00 - $3,140.00
 
$372.00
9+
$226.00 $3,574.00

Summer 2008 Off Campus Tuition (per credit hour)

  Illinois Resident Non-Illinois Resident
Undergraduate $189.00 $356.00
Undergraduate (2008 newly enrolled freshmen & transfers) $254.00 $480.00
Graduate $201.00 $374.00

Distance Learning Tuition

Undergraduate
  Illinois Resident $164.00 (per cr hr) + $50 Distance Learning Fee
  Non-Illinois Resident $331.00 (per cr hr) + $50 Distance Learning Fee
Undergraduate (Summer 2008 newly enrolled freshmen & transfers)
  Illinois Resident $229.00 (per cr hr) + $50 Distance Learning Fee
  Non-Illinois Resident $455.00 (per cr hr) + $50 Distance Learning Fee
Graduate
  Illinois Resident $176.00 (per cr hr) + $50 Distance Learning Fee
  Non-Illinois Resident $349.00 (per cr hr) + $50 Distance Learning Fee
* Distance Learning Fee is a per course fee.

Calculate Your Tuition

This formula shows how to tabulate your tuition charges.
• On-Campus: (Total number of cr. hrs you are taking) X (tuition per cr. hr) + (fees applicable to your total cr. hrs) = Your tuition.

Off -Campus: (Total number of cr. hrs you are taking) X (tuition per cr. hr) = Your tuition.

• Distance Learning:(Total number of cr. hrs you are taking) X (tuition per cr. hr) + $50 Distance Learning Fee = Your Tuition.

Any combination of Extension or Distance Learning courses and on-campus courses will have mandatory fees charged.

NOTE: Some courses carry additional fees. These fees are not included in the tuition and mandatory fee information. The list of courses with additional fees is in the back of this bulletin.

• Mandatory fees apply to all on-campus students and students with combination off-campus and on-campus schedules regardless of student level or residency status.

• Activity fees are assessed to provide open on-campus positive programs and activities to students that enhance curricular and co-curricular experiences for students.

• Student Union fees are assessed to maintain the facility, provide services and promote a variety of programs and activities that are responsive to student’s developmental needs.

• Athletic Fees provides support for a comprehensive Intercollegiate Athletic program.

• Health Fee provides support for some health-related activities and services for CSU students.

• Health Insurance fee applies to the student health plan for accident and sickness is mandatory for students, undergraduates and graduates, who enroll with 12 hours or more.

Mandatory Fees
Full Time Enrollment (9+ credit hours) $226.00
Part Time Enrollment (1-8 credit hours) $164.00
Mandatory fees apply to all on-campus students and students with combination off-campus and on campus schedules regardless of student level or residency status.

Four Year Guaranteed Tuition Plan

The “Truth in Tuition” bill mandates that Illinois public universities provide four years of level tuition for new students enrolling for the first time beginning with the Fall 2004-2005 academic year.  Undergraduate and transfer students enrolling at CSU for the first time after Fall 2004 and students who enroll for the first time every semester  beginning Fall 2004-2005 and thereafter will have their tuition rate held constant for four consecutive years.

The guaranteed rates will remain in effect for four years or until the student reaches 120 credit hours. The hours will be extended to accommodate any majors or programs that exceed the 120 hours or four years. The guaranteed rate will remain in effect except in the event of a break in enrollment of no more than one year (two semesters, excluding summer school). In no case will the initial guaranteed rate be valid beyond five years of total enrollment. A tuition surcharge of 10% will be assessed for students that extend beyond the four-year guarantee period (120 credit hours) or five years of total enrollment. For all other students, CSU’s current tuition program will remain in effect.

IMPORTANT! Note:A change in major will not affect the guaranteed rate. The guaranteed rate will continue for the number of credit hours necessary to complete the new major, not to exceed five years of total enrollment. Beyond five years of total enrollment, a 10% surcharge will be assessed.

Extended illness and military service will be given special consideration. The rate guarantee will be extended on a case-by-case basis by invoking the student appeal process.

Transfer student rates will be guaranteed based upon 120 credit hours less the number of credits transferred at the time of first enrollment. All extensions and exceptions that apply to new freshmen will be extended to new transfer students.

Important Information

Students who fail to pay their tuition by the due date will be withdrawn from their classes! To be reinstated, you must pay a fee of $100 plus your full tuition! Pay on or before the date to avoid the penalty!

NOTE: the late registration fee is $100!
Register on time! Avoid the late registration fee!

Miscellaneous Fees
Admission Application (Graduate) $25
Admission Application (Undergraduate) $25
Application (International) $30
Written Verification of Enrollment $4
Collection Actual Cost
Deferred Tuition Per payment plan
Distance Learning Fee $50
Extension Courses Fee (per credit hour) $25
Finance Charge on Unpaid Balance 1.5% per month
Graduation Application / Undergraduate $25
Graduation Application / Graduate $25
Late Placement Testing $15
Late Payment $25
Late Registration $100
Lost ID Card $20
Special Exam $10
Transcript (per copy) $5
Bursar Reinstatement (See Withdrawal Policy $100
Immunization Non-Compliance $25

ADDITIONAL SERVICES!
• CTA Monthly and Weekly Passes (through your Financial Aid).
• Catalogs $3. (Grad/Undergrad), pay by cash, check, charge, or debit card.
• Game Room Fun Pass, pay by cash, check, charge, or debit card.
• Meal Plans (through your Financial Aid).
• Stamps (book of 10 /$4.20) pay by cash, check, charge, or debit card.

Payment and Refund Policy

No registration transaction is complete until it has been processed by the Business Office. If you web register, please confirm your registration by requesting a paid receipt for your summer registration from the cashier’s office (ADM 211).

Payment Policy
1. Students who have outstanding debts at Chicago State University will not be permitted to register until such debts have been paid.

2. Master Card, VISA, Discover, Telecheck, cash, money orders, cashier’s checks, certified checks, personal checks and traveler’s checks will be accepted in payment of tuition and fee charges. In addition to accepting payment by personal check, ECAP provides electronic check approval that takes funds from your checking account within 48 hours of the time that the check is written to CSU. Business checks will not be accepted.

3. Students who have presented two NSF (not sufficient funds) checks to the University even though restitution has been made will be required to pay for their registration with cash, money orders, certified checks, traveler’s checks, Master Card, VISA or Discover. Business checks will not be accepted.

Tuition Management Installment Plan
Chicago State University offers an Interest-free monthly payment plan to spread your education expenses over time instead of one large payment. For more information, or to enroll, call 1-800-722-4867 (TMS 24 hours a day) and speak with an education payment counselor or log on to www.csu.edu/. Also, you can log on directly to Tuition Management Systems at www.afford.com.

Only students enrolling for four (4) credit hours or more are allowed to use the Tuition Management Installment Plan. Students using the installment payment option are required to make an initial payment at the time of registration or before the payment deadline date. Please remember your initial deposit must go to Chicago State University or your classes will be canceled.

The fee for using the installment plan varies according to the number of payments in your plan. Whether you are on the installment plan with TMS or not, you will still pay the deferred fee amount if tuition is not paid in full at the time of registration.

Tuition Management Services (TMS) Monthly Payment Planner
Summer Plans Payment Due Dates Enrollment Fee
Three months May 1- July 1 $35
Two months June 1 - July 1 $40

Final Payment
Partial or complete payment will be accepted at any time; however, the total balance must be paid according to your TMS payment plan to avoid any additional charges.

Default
Failure to make a complete payment on or before July 10, 2008. Failure to make payment places the student’s account in default and a $25 delinquent fee will be assessed. In addition, a hold will be placed on the student’s academic record and the student will not be permitted to register for subsequent terms until the balance is paid.

Good News! Now Pay Online!
Register and pay your bill online! / Log on to www.csu.edu, and then click on CSU X-Press. Enter the secure area to get to the login prompt. Key in your User ID (University ID Number) and your PAC, then click Login. At the next prompt, click on Student Services and Financial Aid. You will then click on Student Records. Click on On-Line Payments.

1098T Tax Information
Chicago State University will no longer mail 1098T tax forms to students beginning the tax year 2005. You can print out your 1098T notification form via the web at CSU X-Press as stated above.

Refund Policy
The service fee is nonrefundable; the down payment is refundable in accordance with the University Refund Policy (See Refunds). The refund period can not be extended by selecting the deferred payment option. Final payment is still due on withdrawals after the refund period.

SESSION DATE 100% REFUND* 50% REFUND*
June 2 - July 3 June 2 - June 9 June 10 - June 17
July 7 - August 8 July 7 - July 14 July 15 - July 22
June 2 - August 8 June 2 - June 9 June 10 - June 17

*The percent of refund for the tuition and refundable fee charges will be made to your account upon complete formal withdrawal from the university during the time periods listed.

A partial reversal of tuition and refundable fee charges will be made to the accounts of students who reduce their credit hour load below nine semester hours during the total reversal of tuition period for the specific course dropped.

Your Money Responsibilities
In the event of your failure to meet the terms of your deferred payment agreement, you will not be eligible for academic credit for enrolled courses. In addition, Chicago State University may report your account to the credit bureau and assign your student account to an outside collection agency. It is further understood that all reasonable collection costs, fees or legal expenses incurred by Chicago State University and any outside agency in securing payment is your responsibility. These fees could range from 25% to 50% of your unpaid balance.

NOTE: Refund checks are mailed. Please allow four (4) weeks for processing from the final refund date.

Returned Check Policy
All checks are processed through TeleCheck. Any returned checks will require a $20 return check fee by CSU and a $25 fee by TeleCheck totaling $45. If a student pays CSU directly, a $25 assessment by Telecheck will still be enforced. It is the responsibility of the student to maintain a current address in the Records Office. Students should note all dates, fees, and charges are subject to change without notice.

Course fees and payment policies are administered by the Office of Financial Affairs. For more information, contact Financial Affairs at 773.995.2470.

Top

Back to Summer 2008 Quick Links