Chicago State University

Newly Appointed Board of Trustees Convenes First Meeting

Governor Pritzker appointed a new board of esteemed and diverse industry experts and civic leaders to the Chicago State University Board of Trustees who convened their first meeting on Monday, May 13, 2019. 

At the top of the meeting Chicago State President, Z Scott, Esq. gave opening remarks acknowledging Governor Pritzker for appointing a talented and esteemed group of leaders.  “I am pleased with Governor Pritzker’s appointment of new members with diverse experiences and expertise across multiple fields and disciplines.”

President Scott gave a brief history of the University to the new members before giving her report. 

During the meeting, three resolutions were passed by the new board, (1.) to grant tenure to Dr. Joni Jackson, Associate Professor of Business and (2.) Dr. Kimberly Black- Parker, Associate Professor of Education, both whom have superior teaching evaluations, nationally recognized presentations and publications.  (3.) Board members also approved the renewal and acceptance of the Louis Stokes Alliance for Minority Participation in Student Research, a grant program managed by Chicago State University for the past 25 years.

Before wrapping up the meeting, board members voted to elect its new chairperson, vice chair and secretary of the board.  Effective May, 14, 2019 the following board members have been voted into board leadership:

Andrea Zopp

Andrea Zopp, Esq. – Chairwoman

LaTany McDade

LaTanya McDade – Vice-Chairwoman

Mark Schneider

Mark Schneider, Esq. – Secretary

To learn more about the newly appointed board visit .