Faculty & Staff

College Committee


The primary purpose of the College of Health Sciences’ Community Advisory Board are to:

  1. Counsel the Dean of the College of Public Health on strategic and policy related matters;
  2. Be a resource to students, faculty, and staff in enhancing the quality and reputation of the College, and
  3. Take a leadership role in assuring that the College of Health Sciences has the financial resources to accomplish its objectives.


More specifically, the Community Advisory Board members will assist the College of Health Sciences:

  1. By providing an outside perspective to assure that the College’s curriculum and programs are relevant and responsive to the changing needs of the health care system, government, and not-for-profit organizations.
  2. By forging strong ties between students and the health care community to give students direct contact with organizational leaders and to maximize their career development opportunities through internships and full-time positions.
  3. By sharing their clinical expertise with students.
  4. By being a resource for faculty members: supporting their programs of research; confirming the currency and relevancy of our curriculum; and identifying opportunities for clinical internships and other collaborations.
  5. By taking a leadership role in providing financial support to the College of Health Sciences.

Term of Office

  • Members will serve 6 year term that is renewable.
  • Advisory Board meetings are held twice a year (April and November)

Community Advisory Board Members

  • TBA

Visit the department page to learn more.


The College of Health Sciences at CSU educates a caring and competent, non-traditional student body, many of whom are underrepresented in the healthcare professions. Through innovative teaching strategies and interdisciplinary educational experiences, we empower our graduates to be critical thinkers, life-long learners, advocates for reducing health disparities, and providers of quality health care services.


The College of Health Sciences at CSU strives to be recognized as a national leader in interdisciplinary healthcare education and excellence in teaching, research and service. We strive to inspire and prepare our students to seek and create innovative healthcare opportunities locally, nationally and globally.


  • Be responsible for studying, accepting, or returning for revision all proposals submitted by College of Health Sciences’ Departmental Curriculum Committees for establishing new courses, programs, or curricula; for deleting or substituting courses; and for changing existing courses, programs, or curricula.
  • Ensure that assessment tools and procedures are in place to support the achievement of learning outcomes and that results are reported to demonstrate progress towards the achievement of these outcomes.
  • Submit all proposals involving the general education program and new programs to the University’s Curriculum Committee with its recommendations.
  • Have power to initiate curricular proposals.
  • Establish standards and process for curricular oversight for all health sciences courses and other college-wide curricular requirements.
  • Have final authority for the substitution, alteration, addition, or deletion of courses other than those involving the general education program. The Committee shall report final recommendations to the Dean of the College of Health Sciences, the University’s Curriculum Committee and the Office of the Provost for final approval.

Committee Members

Members are nominated by their respective department, during a regularly scheduled departmental meeting and upon their acceptance are voted on by all tenured/tenure-track & fulltime temporary faculty members in attendance.  The composition of the committee is as follows: 

  • Four (4) elected faculty, one (1) member from each of the respective disciplines which are Health Information Administration, Nursing, Occupational Health, Public Health; all with equal speaking and voting privileges.
  • The Chair of the committee is voted on by its members and will vote only to break ties. In the absence of the Chair, the faculty assistant chair/secretary will chair the committee meeting. 

Membership 2022 – 2023  

  • Dr. Yashika Watkins - Chair (Public Health)
  • Dr. Stephanie Zuba-Bates (Occupational Therapy)
  • Charita Barlow-Wells (Nursing)
  • Professor Mary Bowman (HIA)  

Meeting Schedule Frequency

Meetings are to be held at least once a semester, however, special meetings may be held, if required, to respond to necessary issues.

  • Dr. Regina Smith


College Task Forces

  • Vacant
  • Dr. Yashika Watkins
  • Dr. Regina Smith
  • Dr. Stephanie Zuba Bates


University Committees

  • Vacant
  • Dr Regina Smith
  • Vacant
  • Dr. Yashika Watkins
  • Dr. Stephanie Zuba-Bates
  • Dr. Yashika Watkins
  • Dr. George R. Smith, Jr.
  • Dr. Joseph Balogun
  • Dr. George R. Smith, Jr.
  • Vacant
  • Vacant
  • Dr. Yashika Watkins
  • Dr. Regina Smith
  • Dr. Yashika Watkins
  • Vacant


Academic Department Chairpersons

  • Dr. Gregory Paveza
  • Dr. Leslie Roundtree
  • Cheryl P. Jackson
  • Dr. Rupa Potti


Service Units