Chicago State University Board of Trustees Meeting Full Board Meeting Minutes Gwendolyn Brooks Library – Auditorium, Room 415 May 13, 2019 12:25 p.m. – 2:31 p.m.

Board Members Present

Trustee Andrea Zopp, Chair Trustee McDade, Vice Chair Trustee Mark Schneider, Secretary Trustee Louis Carr Trustee Mobley Smith

Board Members Not Present

Trustee Brian Clay
Trustee Jay Smith, Student Representative

Others Present

President Zaldwaynaka (Z) Scott, Esq.
Stephanie Kelly, Esq., General Counsel and Vice President, Chief Compliance Officer
Ms. Bonnie Phillips, Director of Board Relations
Dr. Leslie Roundtree, Provost and Senior Vice President

1. Call to Order

Stephanie Kelly, General Counsel called the meeting to order.

2. Roll Call

A quorum was verified and roll call was taken.

3. Verification of Meeting Notice

The meeting notice was posted as mandated by the Illinois Open Meetings Act.

- 4. Singing of School Song "Honor and Glory"
- 5. Approval of Agenda

Roll call was held for approval of the agenda. The agenda was approved.

6. President's Report

President Scott welcomed the new trustees and thanked the former trustees for their service. President Scott gave an overview of the history of the University and her vision for the University's future.

7. Recess into Executive Session Pursuant to the Illinois Open Meetings Act.

Trustee Zopp moved to recess into Executive Session. Trustee Mobley Smith seconded the motion. The motion passed as follows:

Ayes: 5 Nays: 0

8. Reconvene into Open Session

Trustee Zopp moved to reconvene into Open Session. Trustee Mobley Smith seconded the motion. The motion passed as follows:

Ayes: 5 Nays: 0

Stephanie Kelly, General Counsel stated that the Board took action in executive session that required action in open session.

Action Items

Stephanie Kelly, General Counsel facilitated the election. Officers will assume their duties on the next business day, which is May 14, 2019.

a. Election of Board Officers

Chair of the Board of Trustees

Nominations were open for Chair of the Board of Trustees. Trustee Zopp was nominated as Chair of the Board of Trustees. The nomination of Trustee Zopp as Chair of the Board of Trustees was moved and properly seconded. Nominations were closed.

Roll call for the election of Trustee Andrea Zopp as Chair of the Board of Trustees.

Ayes: 4 Nays: 0

Trustee Zopp was duly elected Chair of the Board of Trustees.

Vice Chair of the Board of Trustees

Nominations were open for Vice Chair of the Board of Trustees. Trustee McDade was nominated as Vice Chair of the Board of Trustees. The nomination of Trustee McDade as Vice Chair of the Board of Trustees was moved and properly seconded. Nominations were closed.

Roll call for the election of Trustee LaTanya MaDade as Vice Chair of the Board of Trustees.

Ayes: 4 Nays: 0

Trustee McDade was duly elected Vice Chair of the Board of Trustees.

Secretary of the Board of Trustees

Nominations were open for Secretary of the Board of Trustees. Trustee Schneider was nominated as Secretary of the Board of Trustees. The nomination of Trustee Schneider as Secretary of the Board of Trustees was moved and properly seconded. Nominations were closed. Roll call for the election of Trustee Mark Schneider as Secretary of the Board of Trustees.

Ayes: 4 Nays: 0

Trustee Schneider was duly elected Secretary of the Board of Trustees.

b. Tenure Resolution

Dr. Leslie Roundtree presented the resolution. Dr. Roundtree explained the process for tenure and gave an overview of Dr. Joni Jackson's and Dr. Kimberly Black-Parker's qualifications for tenure.

Trustee Zopp moved to approve the Tenure Resolution. Trustee Carr seconded the motion. The motion passed as follows:

Ayes: 5 Nays: 0

c. The Illinois LSAMP STEM Pathway and Research Alliance (ILSPRA) Resolution

Dr. Leslie Roundtree presented the resolution. The goal of this grant is to assist
universities and colleges in diversifying the nation's science, technology, engineering
and mathematics (STEM) workforce. CSU has served as the lead institution since 1994.

Trustee McDade moved to approve the Illinois LSAMP STEM Pathway and Research Alliance (ILSPRA) Resolution. Trustee Carr seconded the motion. The motion passed as follows:

Ayes: 5 Nays: 0

d. Foundation Memorandum of Understanding Resolution

Stephanie Kelly presented the resolution. This resolution replaces the master contact between Chicago State University and the University Foundation at Chicago State dated November 2, 2016.

Trustee Zopp moved to approve the Foundation Memorandum of Understanding Resolution. Trustee Carr seconded the motion. The motion passed as follows:

Ayes: 5 Nays: 0

e. New Foundation Member Resolution

President Scott presented an overview of the biography of the proposed new Chicago State Foundation Board of Directors member, Alfreda Bradley Coar. Stephanie Kelly presented the resolution.

Trustee Carr moved to approve the New Foundation Member Resolution. Trustee McDade seconded the motion. The motion passed as follows:

Ayes: 5 Nays: 0

- 9. Public Comment
 Dr. Phillip Beverly welcomed the new trustees to the university. He stated that he wished them well.
- 10. Adjournment 2:31 p.m.