# Chicago State University Special Board of Trustees Meeting Full Board Meeting Minutes Gwendolyn Brooks Library – Auditorium, Room 415 May 8, 2018 12:10 p.m. - 3:55 p.m.

# **Board Members Present**

Trustee Marshall Hatch, Sr., Chairman Trustee Nicholas A. Gowen Trustee Tiffany R. Harper Trustee Horace Smith Trustee Jay Smith, Student Representative

# **Board Members Not Present**

Trustee Kambium Buckner, Secretary

### Others Present

Interim President Rachel Lindsey

Dr. Angela Henderson, Provost and Senior Vice President

Ms. Stephanie Kelly, Esq., General Counsel for Labor and Legal Affairs

Ms. LaKeisha Marsh, Esq., Board Attorney

Ms. Bonnie Phillips, Director of Board Relations

### 1. Call to Order

Chairman Hatch called the meeting to order.

# 2. Roll Call

A quorum was verified and roll call was taken.

# 3. Verification of Meeting Notice

The meeting notice was posted as mandated by the Illinois Open Meetings Act.

## 4. Approval of Agenda

The agenda was approved and roll call was taken.

Chairman Hatch expressed the board's sympathy to Trustee Buckner and his family on the loss of his grandfather.

# 5. Other Matters

## a. Public and Employee Comments

Trustee Hatch stated public comments would be limited to two minutes. Trustee Hatch asked Ms. Phillips to call those who signed up for public comment.

Ms. Phillips stated that no one signed up for public comment.

Interim President Lindsey introduced the new Athletic Director, Mr. Christopher Zorich and gave an overview of his experience.

## 6. Action Item

# **Tenure Resolution**

Dr. Henderson presented the tenure resolution.

Michael Danquah, Ph.D., Associate Professor, Department of Pharmaceutical Sciences, College of Pharmacy (Ph.D., University of Tennessee).

LaShonda Fuller, Ph.D., Associate Professor, Department of Psychology, College of Arts and Sciences (Ph.D., Western Michigan University)

Valerie Goss, Ph.D., Associate Professor, Department of Chemistry and Physics, College of Arts and Sciences (Ph.D., University of Notre Dame).

Joanna Kolendo, M.Sc., Associate Professor, Department of Library and Instruction Services (M.Sc., University of Illinois - Urbana).

Yashika Watkins, Ph.D., Associate Professor, Department of Health Studies, College of Health Sciences (Ph.D. University of Illinois - Chicago).

Trustee Horace Smith moved to approve the tenure resolution Trustee Tiffany Harper seconded the motion. The motion passed as follows:

Ayes: 4 Nays: 0

7. Recess into Executive Session Pursuant to the Illinois Open Meetings Act.

Trustee Horace Smith moved to recess into Executive Session. Trustee Harper seconded the motion. The motion passed as follows:

Ayes: 5 Nays: 0

8. Reconvene into Open Session

Trustee Harper moved to reconvene into Open Session. Trustee Jay Smith seconded the motion. The motion passed as follows:

Ayes: 5 Nays: 0

Trustee Hatch stated that there was action taken in executive session that required action in open session.

## 1. Action Item

# a. Naming of New President

Ms. LaKeisha Marsh presented the resolution.

Trustee Horace Smith moved to approve The Naming of the New President Resolution. Trustee Harper seconded the motion. The motion passed as follows.

Ayes 5 Nays 0

Due to the fact that the naming of the next CSU President was not an action item on the public agenda for the meeting, we are going to invalidate the vote to accept the resolution as read which named a president.

# 9. Adjournment

The meeting adjourned at 3:55 p.m.