Presidential Search Advisory Committee Meeting Minutes

Academic Library - Dean's Conference Room

March 27, 2008

8:25 a.m. - 10:20 a.m.

Members Present

Rev. Richard Tolliver, Ph.D.

Rev. Leon D. Finney, Ph.D.

Ms. Betsy Hill

Mr. James Reynolds

Others Present

Dr. Joseph Balogun

Mr. Ernst Coupet, Jr.

Mr. Mark Dunn, Board Attorney

Dr. Beverly M. John

Mr. David Johnson

Ms. Ann Kuzdale

Mr. Robert Meeker

Dr. Michael Mimnaugh

Ms. Debra J. Nelson

Dr. Donald Pettis

Ms. Aleshia Terry

Dr. Erma Brooks Williams, Board Administrator

Ms. Nancy Hall-Walker, Vice President for Labor and Legal Affairs

Dr. Sandra Westbrooks

Mr. Nate Tindall, Director of Purchasing

Chairman Tolliver called the meeting to order. Dr. Erma Brooks Williams verified that the meeting notice had been posted as mandated by the Open Meetings Act. Members of the committee were introduced.

Chairman Tolliver stated that one of the purposes of the meeting was to review the Charge of the Search Committee, which would be placed on the Board's May agenda. Mr. Nate Tindall will mail out the RFPs for the search firm. Mr. Tindall and Ms. Nancy Hall-Walker were designated as the technical experts for the RFP. Any issues that need clarification will be referred to Attorney Mark Dunn. Only the top three search firms will be brought in for interviews. These firms will be interviewed based on a rating system developed by Mr. Tindall. However, before the rating system is finalized, Mr. Tindall will review the criteria with Chairman Tolliver. Additional criteria that will be included in the RFP are:

- A firm that is familiar with a unionized environment
- Positive references from other institutions
- A firm that has experience working with four year public institutions

Future search committee meetings will be held from 8 a.m. until 10 a.m.

Mark Smith, chairman of the Chairpersons Committee, expressed concerns related to the lack of representation by the Chairpersons.

There were no public and employee comments.

The Committee recessed into Executive Session at 9:20 a.m.

The meeting adjourned at 10:20 a.m.