Chicago State University Board of Trustees Meeting May 9, 2007 Academic Library 10:55 a.m. – 12:05 p.m.

Members Present

Trustee Betsy Hill, Chairman

Rev. Richard Tolliver, Ph.D., Vice Chairman

Mr. Jacoby Dickens

Rev. Leon Finney, Jr., Ph.D.

Ms. Peggy A. Montes

Mr. Jim Reynolds, Secretary

Ms. Evelyn Kayode, Student Trustee

Others Present

President Elnora D. Daniel

Ms. Diane Conastser, CIO, Information Technology

Attorney Mark Dunn

Dr. Dean Justmann, Interim Vice President for Budget, Facilities and Risk Management

Mr. Marquis Miller, Interim Vice President for Institutional Advancement

Dr. Alan Robertson, Interim Vice President for Administration and Financial Affairs

Ms. Nancy Hall-Walker, Vice President for Labor and Legal Affairs

Dr. Sandra Westbrooks, Interim Provost for Academic and Student Affairs

Dr. Erma Brooks Williams, Senior Executive Director for Board and Governmental Affairs

Verification of Meeting Notice

The meeting notice was verified and the roll was taken.

Action Items

Trustee Reynolds moved to approve Collective Bargaining Agreements #399, #134, and #73. Trustee Tolliver seconded the motion. The motion passed as follows:

Ayes: 6 Nays: 0

Trustee Tolliver moved to approve the tuition increase for academic year 2007 – 2008. Trustee Dickens seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously as follows:

Ayes: 7 Nays: 0

Trustee Tolliver moved to approve the Change in Authorized Bank Signatures. Trustee Reynolds seconded the motion. The motion passed as follows:

Ayes: 7 Nays: 0

Trustee Montes moved to confer the Honorary Degrees to Dr. Magaret Burroughs and Mr. Joseph Stround for the 2007 Commencement. Trustee Finney seconded the motion. The motion passed follows:

Ayes: 7 Nays: 0

Trustee Montes moved to approve to confer the Distinguished Professor to Professor Victor Sorell. Trustee Dickens seconded the motion. The motion passed follows:

Ayes: 7 Navs: 0

Trustee Montes moved to grant tenure to the faculty listed below. Trustee Dickens seconded the motion. The motion passed as follows:

- Leslie Baker-Kimmons
- Liyana M. Chandrassena Cabraal
- Ernest Coupet
- Michael Edwards
- Joyce Gana
- Daniel J. Hrozencik
- Thomas Kenemore
- Nicole Strange
- Haralambos Vavilis
- Rachelle Steward
- Elmer Gentry
- Mario Beatty

And to defer tenure pending submission of materials requested to:

Profs. Gail Ito and Debra Nelson

Ayes: 6 Nays: 0

Committee Report

Rev. Dr. Tolliver agreed to serve as the Board's representative on the Civil Service Merit Board.

Adjournment

The meeting adjourned at 12:05 p.m.