Committee Membership

According to Appendix G of the current contract, the committee will consist of 15 voting members: seven members selected by the Union to represent the Colleges of Arts and Sciences, Business, Health Sciences, Education, Pharmacy, Library and Instructional Services, and the Division of Continuing Education and Non-traditional Programs;  five members chosen by the respective Chairperson, Director, or Union Chapter President to represent each of the following areas: the Union, Information Technology, the University Graduate and Professional Council, the University Curriculum Coordinating Committee, and the General Education Committee; a member selected by the VP of Enrollment Management and two members selected by the Provost. Director of the Center for Teaching and Research Excellence and Moodle and Instructional Design staff of the Office of Online Instruction are ex officio, non-voting members of the committee. College Deans shall be informed of the membership of the standing committee.

Members are appointed for a three-year term to a maximum of two consecutive terms. The Union chapter president and the Provost at the request of the Distance Education Committee shall fill mid-year vacancies. Alternate members may be selected by the duly appointed member.

To accomplish the purpose of the Distance Education Committee, its members should regularly attend meetings to insure adequate representation of each academic and administrative area. At the end of each semester the committee shall report to the Union chapter president and the Provost those members attending less than 50% of the meetings so that these members may be replaced within one month with new appointees.

Additional persons may be invited to provide input to the Committee. They can be regular attendees or be invited to address specific topics. They shall serve without vote.

Current DEC Members (2020-21)

Appointment Area Primary Alternate
Union appt/CAS Karel Jacobs kjacobs@csu.edu  
Union appt/COB Ehab Yamani (ehabyamani@csu.edu) (Secretary)  
Union appt/CHS VACANT  
Union appt/COE Rasha Elhage (relhage@csu.edu) Vice-Chair Olanipekun Laosebikan (olaosebi@csu.edu)
Union appt/COP  VACANT  
Union appt /Library Joanna Kolendo (Jkolendo@csu.edu)  
Union appt/Continuing Education VACANT  
Union Gabriel Gomez (ggomez@csu.edu) Valerie Goss Union President (dlynch21@csu.edu) ALT
Information Technology    
Graduate  Council June Price-Shingles (jprice24@csu.edu) Chair   
University Curriculum Committee Jan-Jo Chen jchen20@csu.edu Kristy Mardis (kmardis@csu.edu) 
General Education Committee Art Redman (aredman@csu.edu)  
Enrollment Management

Shawnice Avilez (savilez@csu.edu)

 
Provost appt/Contract Admin Thomas Rowan (trowanii@csu.edu)  
Provost appt/Academic Affairs Mary Daniels (mdanie25@csu.edu  
CTRE Director (non voting) Patrice Boyles (pboyles@csu.edu)  
OOI Staff-Moodle Super. (non voting) Theo Garth (tgarth@csu.edu)  
OOI Staff-Instruct. Design(non voting)  Rochelle Johnson (rjohns30@csu.edu)