CTRE Faculty Advisory Board 



Dr. Soo Kang, Art & Design

Dr. William Jason Raynovich, Music

Dr. George Smith Jr., Health Sciences

Dr. Tywanda Jiles, Early Childhood

Professor Kathleen Rhodes, Library

Dr. Karel Jacobs, Biological Sciences

Dr. Jan Jo Chen, Mathematics, Computer Science and Economics


Given the purpose of the CTRE – to build a community among the faculty – it is vital that faculty actively participate in the direction and events of the Center.  This is accomplished through two faculty committees and through annual surveys administered to all faculty members. 

First, the Distance Education Committee, which was established through the UPI contract, assesses, recommends, develops, and evaluates activities specifically related to the growth and promotion of distance education at the University. The Committee also assesses the variety, quality, and depth of course offerings; the operation and support provided for distance education, and the policies and procedures of the University referencing distance education.

The second faculty committee is the CTRE Advisory Board (CTREAB). This board was established to allow for active participation from faculty in the setting of priorities of the CTRE, in the evaluation of the effectiveness of the services provided through the CTRE, and in the direction of the programming to be offered.  This board contains representation from the Distance Education Committee. 

Appendix: By-Laws for the CTRE Advisory Boar
 Amended August 25, 2020

The following articles outline the scope and responsibilities of the CTRE Advisory Board (CTREAB). 


  1. Provides CTRE Director with recommendations concerning matters relevant to the CTRE.
  2. Review, make recommendations, and approve CTRE strategic plan.
  3.   Review, make recommendations, and approve CTRE annual budget.
  4.   Review, make recommendations, and approve CTRE Grant applications.
  5.  Review, make recommendations, and approve CTRE Grant evaluation process.
  6.  Assist CTRE Director in planning, strategizing, and working to obtain more funding for CTRE grants.


  1. Membership will consist of five to nine faculty members, preferably with representation from all Colleges.
  2. At least one member from Faculty Senate.
  3. The term of office for members shall be one year with committee members eligible for reappointment.


  1. The committee will elect a chair and a secretary, preferably in April every year.
  2. The committee will meet once a month.
  3. The chair will convene the monthly meeting.
  4. The secretary will record the minutes.
  5. The majority of the voting membership constitute a quorum.  Any voting member may suggest the absence of a quorum, upon which the Chair will determine if a quorum exists.
  6. Action items are approved by the majority of the voting members present.

Quorum: The presence of fifty-one percent (51%) or more of the voting membership will constitute the quorum needed for all business, including elections. In matters requiring a vote, a simple majority of the quorum present will be satisfactory, except in the case of modifications to the by-laws. 

Minutes: Minutes of each meeting of the CTREAB will reflect the actions and deliberations and will be distributed to the membership and Dean of the Library and Instruction Services. Minutes can be shared by the Chair of the Faculty Senate and the Union President upon request. 

Minutes may be modified to protect sensitive information prior to being distributed outside the CTREAB. Minutes are recorded and distributed by the secretary of the CTREAB. 

Parliamentary Procedure: All meetings of the CTREAB will be conducted using Robert’s Rules of Order. Format: All CTREAB and its subcommittees meetings can be conducted either face-to-face or online. 

Also, voting can be done using online means. 

All elements of CTREAB’s by-laws are outside of the negotiated contract and are not grievable or guaranteed, as the CTREAB has been administratively established as a mechanism for gaining faculty and academic advisors input and guidance into the area of faculty development and academic advising.