University General Education Committee

Mission/Purpose

The purpose of the University General Education Committee [GEC] is to monitor the University General Education requirements including the approval or disapproval of all proposed curricular modifications affecting these requirements and to coordinate and maintain relationship with other bodies that oversee the curriculum including the University Curriculum Coordinating Committee [UCCC], the General Education Assessment Committee [GEAC], and the Chair of each individual College Curriculum Committee. Curriculum modifications to be considered by the committee include proposed changes to the general education requirements as listed in the University catalogue as well as any changes that may potentially impact these requirements.

Bylaws/Operating Rules

Meeting Schedule/Frequency

The GEC meets every first Thursday of the month for the months of Sept, Oct, Nov, Dec, Feb, Mar, Apr, May. Any other meetings are called as needed.

Agendae of Meetings

Meeting agenda are emailed to committee members approximately one week in advance of the meeting.

Minutes of Meetings

Composition of the Committee

The GEC is a university-wide committee that is composed of voting members who are tenured/tenure-track faculty and ex-officio members representing specific administrative and faculty positions that have responsibilities for the general education curriculum (see bylaws for exact composition). The GEC's voting members are chosen by an election, and voting members serve a three-year term (see bylaws for election procedures).

Members

Voting Members

A. By 3-Year Term

Fall 2011 – Spring 2014
Kamesha Khan (CAS – Humanities (English))1
Sarah Buck (COE)
Quintin Williams (CHSc)2
vacant (COB)
Rosalind Fielder (Library)

Fall 2012 – Spring 2015
Amber Wise2 (CAS – Math/Nat. Sci.)
Steve Rowe (CAS – Social Sciences)
Monique Germain (CHSc)
Evelyne Delgado-Norris (Foreign Languages)
vacant (COB)

Fall 2013 – Spring 2016
Shaila Christofferson (CAS – Humanities)
Liz Osika (COE)
Victor Akatsa2 (CAS – Math/Nat. Sci. (Math))
Tiffany Davis (CAS – Social Sciences)

B. By Area of Representation

Name Email Affiliation Term
Shaila Christofferson schristo@csu.edu CAS - Humanities 2013 - 2016
Kamesha Khan kjacks25@csu.edu CAS - Humanities (English) 2011 - 2014
Victor Akatsa2 vakatsa@csu.edu CAS - Math/Nat. Sci. (Math) 2013 - 2016
Amber Wise2 awise@csu.edu CAS - Math/Nat. Sci. 2012 - 2015
Steve Rowe s-rowe@csu.edu CAS - Social Sciences 2012 - 2015
Tiffany Davis tdavis46@csu.edu CAS - Social Sciences 2013 - 2016
Liz Osika eosika@csu.edu COE 2013 - 2016
Sarah Buck sbuck@csu.edu COE 2012 - 2014
Monique Germain mgermain@csu.edu CHSc 2012 - 2015
Quintin Williams2 qwilli22@csu.edu CHSc 2012 - 2014
vacant   COB 2011 - 2014
vacant   COB 2012 - 2015
Evelyne Delgado-Norris enorris@csu.edu Foreign Languages 2012 - 2015
Rosalind Fielder rfielder@csu.edu Library 2011 - 2014

1 Upon completion of term, this position will be filled by a faculty member from the discipline of English.
2 Temporary member selected by GEC in consultation with department/college for 2013-2014 academic year only.

Ex-Officio Members

Name Email Affiliation
Angela Henderson provost@csu.edu Interim Provost
Bernie Rowan trowanii@csu.edu Academic Affairs3
David Kanis dkanis@csu.edu Interim Dean of CAS
Yan Searcy ysearcy@csu.edu Interim Associate Dean of CAS
Janet Halpin jhalpin@csu.edu Interim Associate Dean of CAS
Omar Headen oheaden@csu.edu Interim Dean of the Honors College
Dawn Liddicoatt m-liddicoatt@csu.edu Director of Teacher Certification
Matt Harrison mharri42@csu.edu Director of Evaluations
Nellie Maynard nmaynard@csu.edu Interim Dean of Continuing Education & Non-Traditional Degree Programs
Mark Sudeith msudeith@csu.edu Chair of the GEAC
Philip Cronce pcronce@csu.edu Chair of the UCCC
vacant   Faculty Senate Representative
Devil Potluri vpotluri@csu.edu Outgoing Chair of the GEC

Officers for 2013-2014 (Elected at Meeting on September 5, 2013)

Chair: Steve Rowe
Vice-Chair: Rosalind Fielder
Secretary: Shaila Christofferson

GEAC Representatives Participating in Course Review Process

Eddy Gaytan egaytan@csu.edu
Das Janssen ajanssen@csu.edu

3 Asst. Provost for Articulation is listed as an ex-officio position in the current GEC bylaws, but there is no such title in Academic Affairs (and there hasn't been for quite some time). GEC bylaws should be ammended to indicate simply a representative from Academic Affairs (i.e. chosen by the Provost).