Dr. Wayne D. Watson Receives Top Honors From The Thurgood Marshall College Fund

Chicago State University's President Coined as Educator of the Year

CHICAGO (OCTOBER 30, 2012) – Chicago State University President, Wayne D. Watson PhD, will be presented with one of the highest honors, the Education Leadership Award, presented by the Thurgood Marshall College Fund, (TMCF). The award is presented by TMCF to individuals who are pioneers and visionaries in their respective fields, who have dedicated their lives to helping realize the theme of Developing Minds and Delivering Dreams to nearly 300,000 students attending Historically and Predominately Black Colleges and Universities (HBCU's and PBI's).

"I am humbled and honored to receive such an award from this prestigious organization," said Dr. Wayne D. Watson. "As the president of a PBI, I am constantly working to engage our student community, as well as the communities our students come from, to transform and create better educational opportunities for them", he went on to say.

Dr. Wayne D. Watson became the 21st president of Chicago State University (CSU) on October 1, 2009. During his first months of tenure, Dr. Watson worked relentlessly for the implementation of a reformed agenda focused on streamlining operations, establishing accountability, and redefining the institution overall to create a foundation for an institutional renaissance. Before becoming the president of CSU, Dr. Watson spent 30 years with the City Colleges of Chicago, one of the largest community college systems in the nation. Watson has dedicated his time to making a difference in the community and instilling excellence in education. Currently he serves on the board of directors for the American Association of Community Colleges (AACC) and the National Association for Equal Opportunity in Higher Education (NAFEO).

The Thurgood Marshall College Fund presents the Education Leadership Award annually to an extraordinary president or education leader of a HBCU or PBI. This award is the highest individual award presented by the organization.

About Chicago State University

Chicago State University was founded in 1867 with just 62 students enrolled in its first year. Today it is a nationally accredited university with five colleges- Health Sciences, Arts and Science, Business, Education, and Pharmacy – offering 36 undergraduate and 25 graduate degree-granting programs. In addition, CSU has a Division of Continuing Education and Non-Traditional Programs that reach out to the community with extension courses, distance learning and not-for-credit programs. Consistently evolving to reflect state-of-the-art trends in higher education, Chicago State University prepares students for success in the twenty-first century. For more information, please visit www.csu.edu