CSU’s Palmer Selected for Dark Horse Dunker Competition

CSU’s Palmer Selected for Dark Horse Dunker CompetitionCHICAGO – Chicago State University men’s basketball senior student-athlete Trayvon Palmer has been selected as one of 16 finalists for the 2017 Dark Horse Dunker competition and is in the running to compete in the State Farm College Slam Dunk Championship Final Four weekend in Phoenix.

The competition will begin today at 12 Noon with the first round of voting. Fans will determine the winner by voting daily at DarkHorseDunker.com throughout the four-week competition.

The Dark Horse Dunker is a digital-media contest that will match up 16 of the top college dunkers in a bracket-style competition to determine the final participant in the Slam Dunk Championship. Fans can vote for Palmer using an interactive bracket by visiting DarkHorseDunker.com. The player with the most votes in each matchup will move on to the next round.

Fans can vote once per day on multiple devices (example: computer and phone = 2 votes). Palmer is matched up in the first round against senior Brendan Taylor from Northwest Christian University. Voting for the 1st round concludes on Tuesday, Feb. 21, at 1 p.m. Eastern.

The schedule for each voting round will go as follows:

  • 1st Round: Feb. 14 at 1 p.m. ET through Feb. 21 at 1 p.m. ET (16 Players)
  • Quarterfinals: Feb. 22 at 1 p.m. ET through March 1 at 1 p.m. ET (8 Players)
  • Semifinals: March 2 at 1 p.m. ET through March 9 at 1 p.m. ET (4 Players)
  • Finals: March 10 at 1 p.m. ET through March 17 at 1 p.m. ET (2 Players)
  • Winner Announcement: March 17 at 1 p.m. ET

The player that ultimately receives the most votes in the final round will be selected to compete in the State Farm College Slam Dunk & 3-Point Championships, an event featuring some of the best college dunkers and three-point shooters in the country, held annually in the Final Four host city. The contest will air live on ESPN during Final Four weekend in Phoenix at 10 p.m. Eastern on Mar. 30.

The 16 Dark Horse Dunkers – all seniors – participating in the contest were selected by a committee representing the State Farm College Slam Dunk & 3-Point Championships. A complete bracket with matchup details can be found on DarkHorseDunker.com. The following are the 16 Dark Horse Dunkers competing in the contest for their chance to showcase their talents in the State Farm College Slam Dunk & 3-Point Championships:

Damarcus Croaker – Murray State
Chris Davenport – North Florida
Antonius Cleveland – Southeast Missouri State
Nick Stover – South Alabama
Denzel Gregg – Saint Bonaventure
Matt Bonds – Saint Michael's College
Xavier Smith – Oklahoma City University
Zeek Woodley – Northwestern State
Romond Jenkins –Tarleton State
Buay Tuach – Loyola Marymount
Demetris Morant – Florida Golf Coast
Austin Rettig – University of Tampa
Khory Moore – Virginia Wesleyan
Brendyn Taylor – Northwest Christian University
Collin Stewart – Monmouth
Trayvon Palmer – Chicago State

Previous State Farm "Dark Horse Dunker" winners include Yunio Barrueta (Barry University) in 2016, Davene Carter (Tarleton State) and Antjuan Ball (West Texas A&M) in 2015, Marcus Lewis (Eastern Kentucky) in 2014, Corey Law (High Point) in 2013, James Justice (Martin Methodist College) in 2012, and Jacob Tucker (Illinois College) in 2011. Lewis, Justice and Tucker all went on to win the College Slam Dunk Championship.

For more information about the State Farm College Slam Dunk & 3-Point Championships go to like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter (@CollegeSLAM).