### Chicago State University Faculty Senate

### **Meeting Minutes**

### Approved January 4, 2022

#### 12:30 via Zoom

Present: Patricia Steinhaus (President), Tekleab Gala (Vice President), Sarah Buck (Recording Secretary), Gabrielle Toth (Corresponding Secretary), Karen Witherspoon, Sarah Austin, Anser Azim, William Jason Raynovich, Deborah Harper Brown, Eddy Gaytan, Jubilee Dickson, Soo Kang, Nancy Grim, Erica Allen, Yashika Watkins, Olanipekun Laosebikan, Byung-In Seo, Kristy Mardis, Valerie Goss, Hafeez Faridi, Tonya Hall, Yakubu Ubangiji, Ahmed Abu Fayyad

A. Call to order

1. Explanation given for the general process of the vote on the By-laws and Constitution (e.g., first by Senators, then by Unit A faculty)

### B. Ad Hoc Rules and Operations Committee Report

- 1. Goss named the participants of the committee and provided a review of the process until this point
- 2. Overview of recommended Constitution and Bylaws changes provided
- 3. Significant discussion was had regarding the appropriateness of having first year faculty in the Senate
- 4. Writing errors were addressed
- 5. Significant discussion was had regarding the duties of the Executive Committee appointing members to certain university committees

## C. Vote on the committee's proposed recommendations

- 1. No vote was taken.
- 2. Steinhaus moved that the vote on the document be tabled until February pending the incorporation of the suggestions that were made during the meeting, Gala seconded > motion carried unanimously
- 3. Process for submitting comments to Ad Hoc committee: send an email to the committee
- 4. Updated document will need to be completed by January 21. Suggestions should be emailed by Friday
- 5. A brief discussion was held on the process for voting in February: suggestions include voting by section or voting on particularly contentious issues within the document. The Chair of the Rules and Operations committee agreed to determine an appropriate manner to vote on the final document

# D. Adjournment 1:34