# CSU Faculty Senate Minutes of Joint meeting of CSU Faculty Senate with UPI 4100 Chapter February 2, 2016

Meeting was called to order at 12:35 p.m.

Attendance: Justin Akujieze, Anser Azim, Phillip Beverly (Presiding), Robert Bionaz, Judith Birgen, Patrice Boyles, Emmett Bradbury, Sarah Buck, Jane Crossley, Miguel Fernandez, Rosalind Fielder, Monique Germain, Kathleen Haefliger, Tonya Hall, Janet Halpin (Recording), Rong He, Soo Kang, Ann Kuzdale, Bryon Martin, Paul Musial, Mohammad Newaz, Vincent Osaghae, Brenda Pruitt-Annisette, Jason Raynovich, Alesia Richardson, Virginia Shen, Yashika Watkins, Elizabeth Wittbrodt, Chyrese Wolf.

Members of UPI 4100 in attendance: (listed as they appeared on the sign-in sheet) Phillip Beverly, William J. Raynovich, Janet Halpin, Philip Cronce, Elizabeth Wittbrodt, Kathleen Haefliger, Miguel Fernandez, Kumar Mukherjee, Adrienne Carter, Patrice C. Boyles, Rong L. He, Tiffany Davis, Vincent Osaghae, Deborah Harper Brown, Debra Bell Griffin, Deborah Lynch, Azungwe Kwembe, Debra Nelson, Sarah Buck, Bryon Martin, Robert J. Szyman, Chyrese Wolf, Brenda Pruitt-Annisette, Evens Alexis, Walter Ries, Mel Sabella, Amber Wise, Forrest E. Hazard, Barbara Leys, Araceli Canalini, Asmamaw Yimer, Eric Shen, Tekleab Gala, Laurie Walter, Farhad Simyar, Cindy Arocena Roberson, Celia Francies, Quintella Bounds, Carlos McCullough, Tadesse Giorgis, Monigue Germain, Tracy G. Crump, Kelly Harris, Kim Dulaney, Linda Martinez, Bob Cherico, James Hendricks, Mark Sudeith, Mohammad Salahuddin, Karel Jacobs, Brenda Aghahowa, Barbara B. Moore, Carol Leach, Steve Rowe, Shaila Christofferson, Liz Osika, Zaneta M. Jackson, Arthur Redman, Chandra Cabraal, Michael Davenport, Gabriel Gomez, Tonya Hall, Linnae Bryant, Maria Moreno, Ann Kuzdale, Louis McFarland, Duc Do, Mohammad Newaz, Anser Azim, Auston Harton, Archie Peters, Lionel Pittman, Richard Solakievicz, Nadeem Fazal, Mark Erhart, Ehab Aboureshed, Abir El-Alfv. Leslie Baker-Kimmons. Alesia Richardson. Athanase Gahungu. J. Ache Gana, Emmett Bradbury, Kevin Swier, Andrew Maselli, Yashika Watkins, Lolita Godbold, Pharez Whitted, Roxanne Stevenson, Mark Smith, Noé de la Sancha, Judith Birgen, Ouida Bennett, Sweet Mordi, Cynthia K. Valenciano, Soo Kang, Wynona Pyrtel, Kamesha Khan, Gennifer Jackson, Melissa Baker, Barbara Belisle, Patricia Steinhaus, Ling-Ling Hu, Leslie Jackson, Virginia Shen, Moussa Ayyash, Agber Dimah, Walid Al-Ghoul, Justin Akujieze, Dan Hrozencik, Paul Musial, Romona Raymond, Arnoldo Fabela, N. Yakubu Ubangiji, Jane Crossley

Dr. Beverly laid out the format of the meeting, which would include approval of the minutes of the previous meeting, senator speeches, announcements, and then turning over to the UPI 4100 union meeting in executive session.

Approval of minutes of January 12, 2016

Moved by Senator Kathleen Haefliger seconded by Senator Jason Raynovich. to approve minutes of January 12, 2016 Request amendment of the minutes to add Senator Sarah Buck to list of those present

Motion passed unanimously.

#### Visitors:

New CSU President Dr. Calhoun was recognized, and he made brief remarks. He thanked Faculty Senate for the invitation to attend, and expressed excitement at opportunities to meet with faculty. He intends to meet each faculty member but of necessity is currently distracted by budget matters. He wants to support our work, and would like faculty to have a sense of efficacy in teaching, research, and engagement. Please consider him as a colleague who wishes to work with us, and who invites us to call upon him.

## Senator Speeches

Senator Janet Halpin reported that she and her chair have been attempting to get a desktop computer since fall of 2014, and that there are currently three faculty in her department (GSHAA) without university computers. She questioned the status of what must be a large number of surplus, unallocated computers due to the retirement, termination, and/or resignation of multiple staff over the last few years. She asked Faculty Senate to find out the status of surplus computers on campus.

Senator Tonya Hall shared information about an ongoing project with an upcoming conference in October on the topic of Freedom from Workplace Bullies. Conference in October. Fliers were distributed to all in attendance.

### <u>Announcements</u>

Next Regular Faculty Senate Meeting March 1, 2016 Board of Trustees Meeting special board meeting, 8:30 a.m. on February 4, 2016 Board of Trustees regular meeting Friday, March 4, 2016, 8:30 a.m. Commencement: May 12, 2016

## Special session

Faculty Senate Phillip Beverly announced the move into special session and invited non-faculty senate or UPI 4100 members to leave. The meeting was turned over to UPI 4100 local president and Senator Bob Bionaz.

Motion to exit from executive session by J. Raynovich, Motion to adjourn by J. Raynovich

Meeting adjourned at 2:00 p.m.

Respectfully submitted, Senator Janet Halpin Professor of Geography