Fraternity/Sorority Unity Garden


On August 29, 2014, Chicago State University unveiled the “Fraternity & Sorority Life Unity Garden”  in front of the Cordell Reed Student Union Building. The “Unity Garden” features the 11 Fraternity & Sorority chapters recognized by the University and their governing organizations. The organizations include:

  • Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity, Inc.
  • Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc.
  • Kappa Alpha Psi Fraternity, Inc.
  • Omega Psi Phi Fraternity, Inc.
  • Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc.
  • Phi Beta Sigma Fraternity, Inc.
  • Zeta Phi Beta Sorority, Inc.
  • Sigma Gamma Rho Sorority, Inc.
  • Iota Phi Theta Fraternity, Inc.
  • Sigma Lambda Gamma Sorority, Inc.
  • Elogeme Adolphi Christian Sorority, Inc.

These organizations have a rich history that is embedded in the fabric of our country.  Existing for over 100 years, they have been in the forefront of Women’s Suffrage, the Harlem Renaissance, and the Civil Rights Movement.   

We have set standards and a historical value at the University by becoming the first Institution to have Fraternity/Sorority plots in the Chicagoland area and we believe Chicago State University is the FIRST 4 year Institution in Illinois to have plots.