Academic Affairs Biographies

Elmer J. Gentry, Ph.D.Elmer J. Gentry, Ph.D., is the Associate Dean of Pharmacy Academic Affairs for the Chicago State University College of Pharmacy (CSU-COP).  Dr. Gentry received his B.S. from Missouri Western State College (1993 in Chemistry) and M.S. (1996) and Ph.D. (1999) in Medicinal Chemistry from the University of Kansas.  He served on the faculty at Midwestern University, College of Pharmacy-Glendale from 1999-2007.

He was named the 2007 Teacher of the Year for both the first and second year pharmacy classes at the College of Pharmacy-Glendale.  Additionally he has received the Edgar C. Little Outstanding Chemistry Graduate Award from Missouri Western State College, the Pharmacy Graduate Student Honors Symposium Award from the University of Kansas, and an American Foundation for Pharmaceutical Education Pre-doctoral fellowship from 1997-1999.  He was honored as the National Advisor of the Year runner-up by the Phi Delta Chi pharmacy fraternity.

Dr. Gentry is a member of numerous scientific and professional organizations and has served as the Chair of the Section of Teachers of Chemistry of the American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy.  His research interests include:  synthetic manipulation of antimicrobial agents to modulate potency and spectrum of activity, use of combinatorial chemistry for drug discovery and development, and improving delivery of science courses for professional and pre-professional students.

Nancy C. Grim Hunter, Ph.DNancy C. Grim Hunter, Ph.D. is the Assistant Dean of Assessment for the Chicago State University College of Pharmacy (CSU-COP). Dr. Grim Hunter received her B.S. Chemistry from Ohio University (1993), M.S. Chemistry (Physical Organic and Education) from Miami University of Ohio (1996), and Ph.D. Curriculum & Instruction (Science Education) from University of Illinois at Chicago (1997).

Prior to serving in the College of Pharmacy, Dr. Grim was faculty in both the College of Arts & Sciences in the Department of Chemistry and Physics and the College of Education in the Elementary and Middle School Programs, where she holds the rank of Professor and has earned tenure. As the former Associate Dean in the College of Education, Dr. Grim led the Colleges of Education and Arts & Sciences through many accreditation and approval site visits. The Higher Learning Commission and the National Council for the Accreditation of Teacher Education cited her work in assessment and accreditation as exemplary models. Dr. Grim has earned numerous teaching awards including the CSU Faculty Excellence Award in Research and in Teaching, the CSU College of Education Distinguished Educator Award, and the National Science Teachers Association Super Key Leader Award.

She has been the principal investor / co-PI on numerous grant projects including the CSU Teacher Quality Enhancement Middle School Project.  In addition, the Rev. Dr. Nancy Grim Hunter is an ordained clergy member in the United Methodist Church, Northern Illinois Conference.