College of Health Sciences Community Advisory Board Members


The primary purpose of the College of Health Sciences’ Community Advisory Board are to:

  1. Counsel the Dean of the College of Health Studies on strategic and policy related matters;
  2. Be a resource to students, faculty, and staff in enhancing the quality and reputation of the College, and
  3. Take a leadership role in assuring that the College of Health Sciences has the financial resources to accomplish its objectives.


More specifically, the Community Advisory Board members will assist the College of Health Sciences:

  1. By providing an outside perspective to assure that the College’s curriculum and programs are relevant and responsive to the changing needs of the health care system, government, and not-for-profit organizations.
  2. By forging strong ties between students and the health care community to give students direct contact with organizational leaders and to maximize their career development opportunities through internships and full-time positions.
  3. By sharing their clinical expertise with students.
  4. By being a resource for faculty members: supporting their programs of research; confirming the currency and relevancy of our curriculum; and identifying opportunities for clinical internships and other collaborations.
  5. By taking a leadership role in providing financial support to the College of Health Sciences.


  • Members will serve 6 year term that is renewable.
  • Advisory Board meetings are held twice a year (April and November)

Community Advisory Board Members

Dr. Annie Lawrence Brown, RN
Retired Division Head, Gov. State
448 East 89th Street
Chicago, IL 60619

Fernando Diaz, Director
Chicago State  University
Latino Resource Center/SUB 230A

Dr. Berlean Burris, RN
Former Dean, College of Health Sciences
Professor, Moody Bible Institute
8358 South Indiana
Chicago, IL 60619
James Bonsignore, RHIA
4454 N. Newcastle Avenue
Harwood Heights, IL 60706
cbusch@csu.eduCeola Cooper
10201 S. May Street
Chicago, IL 60643
Debra Hooks, EdD
ECHO Special Education Cooperative
350 West 154th Street
South Holland, 60473-1229 
708- 33-9561(fax)
Ann Jackson, DPT
18860 Hamlin Avenue
Flossmoor, IL 60422
708-922-0741 (h)
Adria Leno, MS, CCC-SPL
Speech Therapist
1101 Lake Street, Suite 405A
Oak Park, IL 60301
(312) 208-8266 ()‎
Mr. Kenneth Buck
Parent of adolescent with autism
2080 Thames River Lane
New Lenox, IL 60451
Sherri Seyfried, MSW, PhD
Coordinator of School-based Social Work
Chicago State University
SCI 116B
Cathyrn Busch, PhD
Chairperson Bilingual, Early Childhood and Special Education 
Chicago State University

Community Advisory Board Alumni Members

Ms. Khadijah Jabbar
P.O. Box 369141
Chicago, IL  60636

Ms. Zellastine Evans Mitchell
1004 South Paston
Chicago, IL 60617

Mr. Adetoro Olaleye
443 Crandon Avenue
Calumet City, IL 60409

Ms. Nina Pope
3828 West Pippin
Chicago, IL 60652

Mr. Dorian R. Robinson, RD
P.O. Box 942
Bolingbrook, IL 60440