NCAA Grants Division 1 Certification to Chicago State University

(CHICAGO) - The National Collegiate Athletic Association [NCAA] Division I Committee on Athletics Certification announced today that Chicago State University [CSU] has met all of the requirements for re-certification as a member of Division I. A certified designation denotes that an institution operates its athletics program in compliance with operating principles adopted by the Division I membership.

This announcement marks the culmination of an eighteen-month process that required a comprehensive review of the CSU Athletics Program and its interface with the university community conducted by five sub-committees and one steering committee composed of university stakeholders.

Dr. Wayne Watson, President of Chicago State University stated, "I am pleased with the exceptional work of our Steering Committee Co-Chairs, the Steering Committee and the sub-committees composed of individuals from across the Chicago State University campus, including administrators, faculty, staff and students in the athletic certification process.

The purpose of athletics certification is to ensure integrity in the institution's athletics program and to assist institutions in improving their athletics departments. NCAA legislation mandating athletics certification was adopted in 1993.

The certification process, which involves completion of a self-study which was led by President Watson, includes a review of five areas of which were also the foci of the five subcommittees namely, Academic Integrity, Diversity, Gender, Governance and Commitment to Rules and Student-Athlete Well-Being.

"I am extremely proud that Chicago State University has earned NCAA Division I certification", said Dr. Watson. "The net effect of this work has been phenomenal in its revelations regarding the structural and human capital changes that we have and will continue to make. Lessons learned are strengthening our athletics program for our student-athletes, campus life and the communities that we serve", he further stated.

The NCAA Committee on Certification issued decisions for Chicago State University [CSU] and 26 other Division I institutions including Georgetown University, Vanderbilt University, Butler University, Northeastern University and the University of California, Los Angeles. A full list may be found at the CSU website.

Related Stories:NCAA Announces Latest Divison I Certification Decisions