Chicago State University
773.995.2000

Committee Membership

According to Appendix G of the current contract, the committee will consist of 15 members: seven members selected by the Union to represent the Colleges of Arts and Sciences, Business, Health Sciences, Education, Pharmacy, Library and Instructional Services, and the Division of Continuing Education and Non-traditional Programs;  five members chosen by the respective Chairperson, Director, or Union Chapter President to represent each of the following areas: the Union, Information Technology, the University Graduate and Professional Council, the University Curriculum Coordinating Committee, and the General Education Committee; a member selected by the VP of Enrollment Management and two members selected by the Provost. Staff of the Office of Distance Learning are considered ex officio, non-voting members of the committee. College Deans shall be informed of the membership of the standing committee.

Members are appointed for a three-year term to a maximum of two consecutive terms. The Union chapter president and the Provost at the request of the Distance Education Committee shall fill mid-year vacancies. Alternate members may be selected by the duly appointed member.

To accomplish the purpose of the Distance Education Committee, its members should regularly attend meetings to insure adequate representation of each academic and administrative area. At the end of each semester the committee shall report to the Union chapter president and the provost those members attending less than 50% of the 5 fall and/or 6 spring scheduled meetings so that these members may be replaced within one month with new appointees.

Additional persons may be invited to provide input to the Committee. They can be regular attendees or be invited to address specific topics. They shall serve without vote.

Current DEC Members

Appointment Area Primary Alternate
Union/CAS Karel Jacobs kjacobs@csu.edu (Chair)  
Union/COB Joni Jackson (jjacks78@csu.edu) (Vice Chair)  
Union/CHS Sandra Karim (skarim22@csu.edu)  
Union/COE  Gabriel Gomez (ggomez@csu.edu  
Union/COP  VACANT  
Union/Library Rosalind Fielder-Giscombe (rfielder@csu.edu)  
Union/Continuing Education  VACANT  
Union VACANT
Information Technology Prashant Shinde (pshinde@csu.edu)  Alvin Richards (aricha25@csu.edu)
Graduate  Council June Price-Shingles (jprice24@csu.edu)  
University Curriculum Committee Jan-Jo Chen (jchen20@csu.edu)  Phil Cronce (pcronce@csu.edu)
General Education Committee Art Redman (aredman@csu.edu)  
Enrollment Management  VACANT  
Provost Thomas Rowan (trowanii@csu.edu)  
Provost Mark Sudeith (msudeith@csu.edu)  
CTRE Nancy Grim (ngrim@csu.edu) non voting  
OOI Theo Garth (tgarth@csu.edu )non voting  
OOI  Rochelle Johnson (rjohns30@csu.edu) non voting  
Additional: Student Representative  VACANT